How the Cookie Crumbles

In a million years I would not have imagined what I am about to do. Never say never and I have more or less agreed to never again, but that’s all changed now.

My friend, Sue, grumbled over lunch last fall that her girlfriend wasn’t in good health for travelling anymore. They’d been friends a long time and had been all over Europe together. Sue wanted a new adventure: something to look forward to, new places to see, something exciting in her life.

“Where would you like to go?” I asked.

“I’ve been all over Europe and back. I’d like to go to Australia.”

I heard a little voice say, “I’ll go with you.”

Where had that come from? I hadn’t been thinking about travelling and haven’t been interested for about seventeen years. Not at all. I’m not sure which one of us was more surprised. Sue’s brows rose…

View original post 395 more words