Do What's Right

I admit it: I really get more work done on Windows 7, so that’s what I run on my primary machines. The integration with the hardware simply cannot be matched in Linux and it’s almost boring how things keep working so well without a bunch of tweaking. Most Linux users are constantly tweaking their systems, in part trying to resolve long-term issues. Were I facing a higher threat context, I would probably run Linux on the metal, but it simply does not work as well.

Instead, I run virtual machines. I keep Debian Wheezy on VMWare and I also have XP Mode for stuff that doesn’t work on Win7.

The latest VMWare Player (free version) does a really good job of making Debian easy to install. It correctly identifies the installer CD and may offer to install the tools for you right away. Don’t; wait until you get Debian installed…

View original post 336 more words